1992 Women's Coxed Eights

Year Inducted: 
Inductee Category: 

Women's Coxed Eights
Kirsten Barnes
Brenda Taylor
Megan Delehanty
Shannon Crawford
Marnie McBean
Kay Worthington
Jessica Monroe
Kathleen Heddle
Lesley Thompson-Willie
*Jennifer Walinga – withdrew due to injury

The 1992 Women’s Eight took home a gold medal at the Barcelona Olympic Games. The W8+, included Jennifer Walinga, who was forced to withdraw from competition the day before the race. Walinga was an essential part of that preparation and deserved an Olympic gold medal as well. As such, Taylor sacrificed one of her two Olympic gold medals that she had won at the Olympic Games and donated it to Walinga; recognizing the fact that the crew could not have won the gold medal without her.