Under-23 Crews Ready to Take on Plovdiv

HomeNews EventsNews

Tuesday, July 18, 2017 – Today, the draw for the World Rowing Under-23 Championships took place and the schedule for the six crews can be found here. Trevor Jones will be the first Canadian to line up in the men’s single sculls on Wednesday morning at 11:10 a.m. ET / 8:10 a.m. PT. A packed schedule of racing follows on Thursday with the women’s eight and the remaining crews to compete in their heats. The regatta will take place in Plovdiv, Bulgaria this week from July 19 to 23.

Live video streaming will be available at WorldRowing.com for the A/B Semifinals on Friday and Saturday and the A-Finals on Saturday and Sunday. Startlists, live tracking and audio commentary can be found at worldrowing.com. RCA will also bring you live coverage on the Rowing Canada Aviron Twitter feed (@RowingCanada).

It’s also not too late to support the Under-23 team! RCA launched the All for One fundraising campaign, supporting the Under-23 and Junior athletes as they prepare for and compete at the 2017 World Rowing Championships. The goal of this campaign is to raise funds that will go directly to reducing any fees that athletes face when representing Canada.

Donations can be made at www.fundrazr.com/RCAallforone either to the Under-23 team, Junior team or both, with funds directly reducing the costs for athletes. To show your support of the athletes and the campaign via social media, post #RCAAllForOne on your Facebook or Twitter. RCA would like to thank all those who have contributed already to the campaign in support of the next generation of Canadian rowers. 

World Rowing Under-23 Championships (Plovdiv, Bulgaria)
Heats Schedule (as of July 18)

Wednesday, July 19
BM1x              11:10 a.m. ET / 8:10 a.m. PT
Thursday, July 20
BW8+              2:05 a.m. ET / 11:05 p.m. PT
BLW1x            3:10 a.m. ET / 12:10 a.m. PT
BLW2x            3:25 a.m. ET / 12:25 a.m. PT
BLM2x            3:30 a.m. ET / 12:30 a.m. PT
BM4x              4:00 a.m. ET / 1:00 a.m. PT

2017 Canadian National Under-23 Team to compete at World Rowing Under-23 Championships, Plovdiv, Bulgaria

Lightweight men’s double sculls (BLM2x)
Aaron Lattimer (University of British Columbia Rowing Club)
Patrick Keane (University of Victoria Rowing Club)

Men’s single sculls (BM1x)
Trevor Jones (Peterborough Rowing Club)

Men’s quadruple sculls (BM4x)
Luc Brodeur (University of Victoria Rowing Club)
Gavin Stone (Queen’s University Rowing Club)
Dan De Groot (St. Catharines Rowing Club)
Ty Adams (University of Victoria Rowing Club)

Lightweight women’s single sculls (BLW1x)
Carly Zanatta (St. Catharines Rowing Club)

Lightweight women’s double sculls (BLW2x)
Larissa Werbicki (Saskatoon Rowing Club)
Jennifer Casson (Kingston Rowing Club)

Women’s eight (BW8+)
Caileigh Filmer (Victoria City Rowing Club)
Stephanie Grauer (Burnaby Lake Rowing Club)
Sydney Payne (Brentwood College School)
Morgan Rosts (Ridley Graduate Boat Club)
Antonia Frappell Victoria City Rowing Club)
Julia Vander Hoeven (St. Catharines Rowing Club)
Madison Mailey (Burnaby Lake Rowing Club)
Laura Court (St. Catharines Rowing Club)
Karen Lefsrud (Calgary Rowing Club)

Non-travelling spares: Miranda Kirker (Calgary Rowing Club), Savannah Sami-Bacon (Calgary Rowing Club) and Elliot Rogers (Brentwood College School – Victoria, BC)

Coaching staff:
Dan Bechard
Roger Meager
Pat Newman
Lesley Thompson-Willie
Dave Thompson